Vegan and Vegetarian - What's the difference? | Blackfriars

8th October 2019

For many people who don’t follow a vegetarian or vegan diet, it might be hard to separate the two diets and note what the difference between these two diet lifestyle choices? So we thought we would put together a simple summary to explain these different diet lifestyle choices:

  • Vegetarians will still eat products that are derived from animals such as dairy, eggs and honey. However will avoid all meat, poultry and seafood.


  • A vegan diet contains only plants such as vegetables, grains, nuts and fruits and food made from plants. Vegans do not consume any animal products or products derived from an animal including dairy, eggs and honey.


  • Following a vegan lifestyle can also mean that the person will choose not to wear leather or suede and they also may look for cruelty-free cosmetics and beauty products in relation to animal welfare.


The NHS has the following advice for a healthy vegan diet:

  • Eat at least 5 portions of a variety of fruit and vegetables every day
  • Base meals on potatoes, bread, rice, pasta or other starchy carbohydrates (choose wholegrain where possible)
  • Consume some dairy alternatives, such as soya drinks and yoghurts (choose lower fat and lower sugar options)
  • Eat some beans, pulses and other proteins
  • Choose unsaturated oils and spreads, and eat in small amounts
  • Drink plenty of fluids

You can find further information for following a vegan diet via the NHS at the following link.


Whether you are following a vegetarian or vegan diet, we have some delicious bakery products for you.

All of our product range is vegetarian friendly – you’re welcome.

We also have a range of vegan friendly scrumptious flapjacks... Apple & Raspberry, Ginger Choc Chip, Cherry & Coconut, Apricot, Fruit, Date & Walnut and Original. Our delicious Porridge Oat Bars are vegan friendly too and available in 3 flavours Merry Berry, Seed Sensation and Cocoa, Cranberry & Orange.